#goodreads, #mystories, #myviews

You’ve changed.

He stared in the mirror. Three years. Three whole years had gone by. She’d gone missing by doing what he was doing now.

She’d stared into the mirror intensely. Thinking of all the hate she’d gotten that day. Her friends, her teachers, bullies, so much to put up with when you’re a teenager. And then, the next moment she’d just gone. Disappeared. She didn’t get sucked in or anything. She’d simply disappeared. 

He was her only true friend. He was devastated when he found she went missing. He’d tried doing the same thing almost a million times now. He thought he’d at least join her. No. It didn’t happen again. She was gone, probably for her own good. 

He just stood there crying. ‘Why did such stuff happen to people with the truest, kindest, and most beautiful hearts?’ he thought. ‘Probably for the good’ said someone familiar. 

Once he’d turned, something had struck him. He just stood there shook by his visuals. What was he seeing?? He stumbled up and touched the image.

Yes. It was true. She was back. Back, like nothing had happened. No change. She didn’t look any older. Just the same as she left, just more wiser. 

And then, they hugged, like there was no tomorrow. They cried tears, though they were out of joy. “Why? Why did you leave?? Where did you go??” he asked wiping away his tears. “Somewhere new” she said.

“What is new?” he asked. “New is new. Some change.” she replied. “She’s hiding something.” he thought. She raised an eyebrow as though she’d heard that.

“I’m not leaving you until you explain probably.” he said. “I have my restrictions.” she replied and got up to fetch herself a glass of water. “What’d you mean restrictions?? I’m your friend. You have to tell me. You don’t know what’s been going on here.” he replied firmly.

She was different now. She didn’t seem to care what people thought about her, though she knew. “Coming for shopping?”she asked, as though she’d just come back from school. “Yeah. Sure. You just came back from a place you claim as ‘new’. I need explanations.” he said harshly. “Sure. If you wanna become like me too” she said and immediately seemed to regret it. “WHAT DO YOU MEAN LIKE YOU?” 

She came closer. “I went through something for being who I am now. Wanna join too??”she asked threateningly. And then I was standing in front of the mirror and staring at it too. I couldn’t stop myself. And then I’d just disappeared out of that place like she had. This time, she was with me. “I can read minds. I can persuade people to do what I want. Join me. I am boss now.” she whispered into my ear. “No. I ain’t coming with you.” I mustered with difficulty. That was all I could manage. She’d changed. I was going to too. 

1 thought on “You’ve changed.”

Leave a Reply

