#mystories, #myviews, crazylittlerowling

If I were in Hogwarts..

“Wake up, you git!” Hermione scolded. I woke up and rubbed my eyes. “You came back into my dorm room again?? Who helped you with the password?” I scolded. “I have my sources. Did you get your essay done or not??” Hermione asked enquiringly. “DUH. Stayed up till 11, and completed it.” I replied sleepily. I am known for procrastinating, but I always get stuff done, no matter what.

“K. Coming with me for breakfast now?” “Yep. Gimme a minute. I’ll change.” 

We thudded down to the Great Hall, muttering about our tight schedule. It had been one year since I’d come into Hogwarts. Me and Hermione were best buddies. We were so alike we made people go,  “DAAAAAYYYUUUUM”. But then, there you go, we weren’t sorted in the same houses. I was a Ravenclaw. She was a Gryffindor. 

I mean, that’s ridiculous. How could she be Gryffindor??? She was practically a nerd (like me)and probably the most smartass person I’d ever met. Maybe, the Sorting Hat had gone bonkers, with so many years of hard work.

“See ya after breakfast!!” I muttered and went off to my table. Bah! I hated this. We could not move over to any other table. Your house, your table. You belonged there. You could possibly move over but, I think you might have to handle a couple of hours of detention with Snape. 

After breakfast, I went up to check on my schedule. Great, what a rotten day. Kicking off with Potions. And what’s worse? With the Slytherins!!! I grabbed my Potions book, a couple of quills, some parchment paper, and my bag of vials and left.

As I stepped out​, I tripped and fell headfirst sending my glasses askew. As I got up and brushed off, I heard Draco Malfoy snickering in the corner. I hated that dude. The fact that he was a Gemini too, infuriated me more than Snape or detention. 

I went into the dungeons and sat myself farthest away from Snape. This was the only class I didn’t prefer sitting in the first few rows. 

Luna Lovegood seated herself next to me. That girl, I’m telling you, is such a jerk. Yeah, she makes it look as the Ravenclaw dorm room is made of nerds, who prefer wearing Radish earrings and reading the Quibbler magazine. Nope, first of all, I didn’t like Radish, leave alone Radish earrings. Second of all, I had a better sense of fashion. Third of all, do you even call the stuff in Quibbler, something rational?? Hummphh, no way! 

Snape came in, swishing his black robes, and straight greasy hair. He sure needs a makeover, if he wants to date Lily. (Wait, I’m not supposed to know that if I’m in my first year of Hogwarts. Well then, who cares, that would ruin my joke. Let’s just assume, it’s the rumors, that’s circulating)

We were gonna make a Sleeping Draught today. Bah! I wouldn’t even need one for Snape’s class, it’s easier with him just drooling on about ingredients and how important it is to measure every freaking ingredient.

So yeah, I was just making the potion and then suddenly he was like “You rotten tomatoes. The essay. I forgot to get them from you. Could you please hand them over?” “Essay? What essay??” I asked Luna, who was swirling her potion dreamily. “Oh. Yeah. That one, the one about Veritaserum and it’s effects.” said Luna softly, picking out her parchment, tenderly to hand over. “Huh?? When did he say about it?” 

“Hmm, looks like Lovegood is having a very interesting conversation with her bench mate. Would you like to share it with us, Ms Lovegood?” “Umm. Yeah, sure. She seems to have a small confusion about the essay.” blurted out Luna. “And what may that confusion be??” asked Snape. 

That was all I could bear…I fled out of the dungeons, sobbing, probably knocking out several vials behind me.

I didn’t know where I was heading, but I just ran up  random stairs and headed down several, until I realized two things. 

a) I was lucky to still not have fallen off a stair, because the stairs were enchanted.

b) I was lost.

The stairs led further up, and the way I’d come, was a cul- de- sac! Well, I looked around to see if the place was familiar. Nope, no resemblance to any prior place I’d been to, in Hogwarts. 

I just went forward, hoping that my last words weren’t “When did he say about it??”. Umm, yeah, I went on, like forever, until a spotted a door mat lying in front of a flat wall. Ok, if I’d been in my senses, I probably wouldn’t have stepped on it. But, you see I was terrified.

I stepped in it and boom! I slid down a deep tunnel and then landed in a room. It had a cabinet. I opened it and found two books. “Break with a Banshee by Gilderoy Lokhart” it had the picture of a man with a huge smiling face handling a Brandon Banshee. The other one was ‘Advanced Potion Making’ by Libatius Borage. I flipped through both books. The book about the Banshee was really boring. However, there was some thing familiar in the other book. There were several notes made alongside the text. But then, there were corrections too. Lots of words had been striked out and replaced with the owner’s handwriting. The owner was, the ‘Half- Blood Prince’. I know, it hardly makes sense, but that’s what it said. 

Sighing deeply, I put the books aside, closed the cabinet and was about to sit down on the floor when a chair appeared. “Oh, great.” I thought to myself and sat down. I opened the Potions book again and found a chapter about Veritaserum. Oh good! I could probably complete my essay, but then, parchment, quills, I’d need that. And anyways, I’d probably get detention for a week with Snape for storming off the class like that. And, I’d never make it out of this room, probably. 

I found a bottle of water, and drank it, thinking of how I got everything I needed. And then, I found a stash of quills and freshly- smelling parchment paper. 

I decided to work on the essay. At least I could get some extra credit for potions maybe, when I die. After a couple of hours, I’d completed my essay. Now, suddenly I felt lonely and felt the urge to go back to my dormroom and get warm and snug. 

Then, something happened. The walls gave way and I found myself in a familiar corridor  in Hogwarts. Oh yeah, I was in the seventh floor corridor. Great, probably I could just sneak into my class. 

I grabbed the two books, my essay and left. I peeked into the dungeon. No Snape. No students. I sneaked in and found the cupboard. I kept the books and left. What a day! Phew!!

This is an imagination of how I’d be, if I were in Hogwarts. And BTW, my perspective is that I place the book in Snape’s cupboard and Harry finds it in his sixth year/ book: Half- Blood Prince. The room is the Room of Requirement, Duh. And the cabinet is the vanishing cabinet.And I know, you’re like you didn’t even use your wand, the whole time!! IDK, I didn’t feel the need to!! 😛

Leave a Reply

