#goodreads, #mystories, #myviews, crazylittlerowling

The glasses. (Chapter one)

I stood up and brushed the hair out of my face. I stumbled around for my glasses and put them on. I’d rolled off my bed.

‌I showered and dressed and headed down for breakfast. After breakfast, I decided to read a book, so I settled in my bed and started to read, and then, I dozed off, with the book in my hand. 

I woke up and rubbed my eyes. What was the time?? 2:00pm. What?? I’d started to read at 10:00am..I’d slept through for four hours…! No way! I wasn’t much of a sleepyhead! 

I rubbed my eyes and headed down. And then, I saw something​ and stopped dead in my tracks. It was something I’d seen before, no, I’d heard of it. I’d heard of it’s descriptions and it was exactly like how I’d imagined it to be.

It was a monster, from….GREEK MYTHOLOGY!!! It was a gorgon. But wait, this couldn’t be real. After all, it was mythology. And even if it were a gorgon, one of the three sisters, I should have turned to stone now.

I pinched myself. Nope, I wasn’t dreaming. My eyes could probably be deceiving me, I rubbed them and realized​ I wasn’t wearing my glasses. I literally stumbled up the stairs and put my glasses on. 

Nope, my eyes were playing tricks on me. There was nothing. No gorgon. No Greek  Mythology. And then, I forgot all about it, not taking it too seriously.

And then it happened again. I was running home, because I was really excited. And then I fell face down, gashing my chin badly and grazing my knees and hands badly. My glasses shattered and flew across the road. I slowly got myself on my toes and slowly limped home. And then, I saw it again. The gorgon was standing next to my doorway. I was already unstable and collapsed on the spot.

I woke up hours later, and found myself in my bed. My friend had got me back in bed. I slowly got myself up and looked around. There, my friend sat next to my bed squeezing my hands. And then, one more glance, there it was! The gorgon. It was back. It was standing next to my bookshelf and peering at the book I’d been reading the first time I saw it. 

That drove me crazy. I’d seen it twice. I screamed in horror, drenching the room with a shrill sense of excitement and horror. My friend, squeezed my hand so tightly, that I felt no blood running through it.

 “WHAT THE FREAKING HELL IS GOING ON???” she screamed into my ear. “That thing, it’s a gorgon… I see something..” I panted out pointing near the bookshelf. “THERE’S NOTHING OVER THERE.” she screamed back. I fainted, over again. 

I woke up the next day. I was alone. I stumbled around for my glasses. I always wondered why I had to wear glasses. I could see perfectly, even without them. 

I couldn’t find my glasses. And then, I remembered. My glasses, they’d fallen off, the other day and they were shattered. “Great. Simply great.” I thought. And then I stood up and collapsed. I slowly got back on to bed.

 I looked around literally swearing to myself, that one more time I saw a gorgon, I’d jump off the balcony. There you go. I did see it.

 Guess what?  This time it was sitting right next to me. It stared me in the eye. I just froze. Well, I don’t know if it was because she was staring , that I’d become stoned, or I was simply stunned and stoned.

The gorgon caressed my hair. I sat there gaping. I’d just fallen and bruised every part of my body,  and then my friend had fled thinking I was a mad woman, and then there was this gorgon here caressing my hair. 

I didn’t know what to do. Should I caress her hair too?? But what if the snakes lunged back..? I mean, her hair was just a bunch of snakes. “So, how are you my li’l sissy??” she hissed. “I’m as fine as possible. Though, I’m still weak.” I hissed back, but it wasn’t me. I wasn’t talking. Someone else was in there, in me, I wasn’t talking. 

“When you leaving this girl? I’ve had enough of her. Always screaming or over- reacting.” said Stheno​. I didn’t know how I figured her name, but I just knew it at the moment. “Gimme sometime. This girl has something up. She can see you when I ain’t awake in her soul.” I said back. 

“ENOUGH LOITERING AROUND MEDUSA. COME BACK AND JOIN US IN THE HUNT.” Stheno hissed at my face. “I KNOW WHAT I’M DOING, GIMME SOME TIME! I’M EXPLORING THIS GIRL. SHE IS DIFFERENT. SHE CAN SEE YOU, RIGHT IN THE EYE. I’LL FIGURE OUT EVERYTHING. I’LL SEE WHAT I CAN GET DONE FROM HER.” Medusa hissed back. And then, I had a blackout.

 I could see without my glasses. I could see a whole new world, and I could stare Stheno​ in the eye without turning to stone. That wasn’t all. I probably had Medusa using me for something.

To be Contd.

Leave a Reply

