#goodreads, #mystories, #myviews, crazylittlerowling

“T. W. L”

She came closer and stretched out her arms, and then she hugged me. Tightly. Then, she squeezed my hand, and they felt sweaty. I felt something drop in my hand.

 Before I could look, everything blacked out.

I woke up with a start. I found myself breathing heavily. I looked down upon my bed. A crumpled piece of paper was lying next to my hand. I picked it up and smoothed it out. “T. W. L” it said. I placed it on the table next to my wristwatch. It was my favorite wristwatch, and I felt confident and assertive when I wore it.
I pushed away my sheets and stood up and headed to the restroom. I picked up my toothbrush, washed it and smeared toothpaste on it. I put it in my mouth and brushed. Then, I stopped abruptly. Something was missing. I whipped out my toothbrush and checked if I’d smeared toothpaste. Yup, been there, done that. There have been times when I’ve forgotten to smear toothpaste. But no, today I’d done that. What was missing? I opened my mouth and stood there gaping in horror. 
My tooth. It was missing. My front tooth was missing. I gargled my mouth and whipped out the sheets of my bed. No tooth. I collapsed on the floor. And then, I saw it. The crumpled piece of paper. There was something new written on it. “Tooth.” I checked on my tooth. Nope, it was gone. 
I showered thinking of what a horrible day it was and how it could possibly become worse. I’d woken up with a start, had a nightmare and lost a tooth with no traces of it. How could my day possibly get worse..? 

After dressing up, I grabbed my wristwatch. THUD! A part of it fell. My heart skipped a beat. It was broken. Into two clean pieces. 

I broke out into a sweat and went for the crumpled piece of paper. There you go! “Wristwatch” was written below “Tooth”. I’d had enough. I called up my friend and explained to her I won’t be coming to school today. 

I decided to nap for the day. I was done. I crashed into my sheets and closed my eyes.

I heard laughter. It was cold and clear and dripped with consciousness of what was happening. I found the girl who’d hugged me sitting in the corner. She clutched the piece of paper I’d had all morning. Something else was written on it. “Life”

” T. W. L”

I woke up with a start. I was alive. The paper was gone.

Leave a Reply

